Let Them Be Little

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about perfection. In parenting, social media, all the loud opinions of our technological society I think can honestly be more of q detriment to the operation of raising children that are independent and want to run out in the woods and think for themselves and learn things by touching and experiencing them instead of listening to podcasts and reading blogs about them.
On one hand I absolutely believe knowledge is power but on the other I wonder whether we, as modern generational parents, are doing our children a disservice in the way we are presenting and teaching this supposed knowledge.

Our children, typically, spend a seven hour day at school. With set plans, state standards, a harsh ruling on what and where they should be and if that’s not met oh my god the world is ending. Boys sit in a desk for much of these seven hours next to their peers and in an environment that seeks to quiet, compare, and expectations they better shape up to. Subconsciously say hey, if you don’t do what everyone else does, to the effoency that everyone else profound at then there is something wrong with you.

Then, they take this bus ride home to a night of homework, activities they’re often forced into with family and friends expectations. They log onto the net and see this seemingly perfect world of media where lives are often portrayed as perfect and problem free though that’s not the truth and pictures of these things. Perfect bodies. Perfect parties. Perfect smiling families. Messages uncounsiiysky saying if you don’t have or act or do these things if you want to succeed in life. As Ilan while it seems we have given up on the notion of letting boys just be boys. Letting children dream. Thinking involving them in world and personal subjects and problems should be discussed in the name of raising informed and conscious people.

Let me stop and say I don’t think they should not be taught about life outside the four walls of their house but…and here’s the big but…there really is power and wisdom in sheltering children from many adult situations and circumstances. Sheltering leaves room for independent think and problem solving.
It creates trust and stability. A foundation for a child that will grow up and be aware, but know and trust their own instincts and that while they trust, they can not lean on anyone or anything to learn and pursue dreams only they can truly make happen with determination
Sheltering teaches identity in a world that says to be accepted they have to do ____________.

I do not for a second think a successful future can truly happen if the adult they will one day be, has not been allowed a childhood.

As a child, I loved my mother. She and my dad were not my biological parents but adopted me at three months old. They divorced when I was four. At this time my mom was my world. I slept with her often. We traveled. Did game nights and were very clothes. As things tend to do, things changed. At some point I grew to being afraid of her and sad at the isolation and neglect I felt I received. She had her life,

Think about it. Childhood is short. And the rest of their lives, an adult will they be.

Leave a Reply

